Home > Sura 35: al-Fatir / The Originator > al-Fatir: Creations and such

al-Fatir: Creations and such

OK, as I've said, I have an axe to grind: I want to talk about the Islam that I was taught about in college, and I want to directly counter some of the misconceptions many Americans have about Islam.

So when I get another sura that talks about the oneness of God, and about the deniers vs. the believers, I can't help but not get excited. Sorta bored, actually. This sura details a lot of the same messages from the forty-plus that were revealed earlier.

The twist on this one is that it talks about god's creation, including fruits of variegated color, salt and freshwater, beasts and cattle, blah blah blah.

I'll include one quote, a better definition of hell than I've seen so far:

36: As for the unbelievers, there is the fire of Hell. It will neither consume them wholly that they should die, nor will its torment be lessed for them.

It is really fascinating that there's no conception of an altered state for the afterlife. You'll have a second life that'll last forever, but you won't get wings or anything like that.

Anyway, my apologies for not looking into this sura in greater depth. It's been a long week.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

